IronViz 2020


Did you see IronViz 2020 has been announced?

I love participating in IronViz, though I’ve realised some things are more important to me. Continuing to see diversity among the talented people who represent the community on the IronViz stage is super important, as is connecting with and helping those in the community aiming to get on the stage.

Many of the talented people in our community who represent minority groups do not ask anything more than their voice amplifying. Building connections and amplifying diverse voices is key, we all need to do that. I also realise that there will be some in the community who, for many reasons, haven’t been able to build connections to get help, or are ignored when they ask for it. We need to acknowledge our community is biased, particularly towards westerners, and people may need alternative routes to get help.

To that end I’m not going to participate in the IronViz competition and instead I offer the time I would have spent competing to advise and help those in the Tableau community who feel under-represented. I’d also love to make better friends and connections along the way – so feel free to book a session to simply connect over IronViz. I won’t ask people who use my time to justify using it; I assume there are many hidden reasons people would feel under-represented, well beyond gender and race that gets discussed most often.

Use this link to book time with me, I hope I have enough slots to cover different time zones and ensure fair representation – but please feedback if that isn’t the case.

Mark Bradbourne has also offered his time use this link to book time with him.

Leave a comment